WWU Student Journalists Win Three SPJ Regional Mark of Excellence Awards

Western Washington University had three winners and several other finalists in this year’s Region 10 Mark of Excellence (MOE) from the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho on April 7.

SPJ’s Region 10 comprises Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.


  • The staff of Klipsun Magazine for Best Student Magazine
  • Taylor Nichols for Best Non-Fiction Magazine Article
  • October Yates for Best Online/Digital News Videography



  • Hannah Gabrielson for Feature Photography
  • Madeleine Jeffers for Non-Fiction Magazine Article
  • Tyler Urke for Non-Fiction Magazine Article
  • Angela Wissmar for Feature Writing
  • Julia Berkman & Hailey Murphy for General News Reporting
  • Erasmus Baxter for In-Depth Reporting
  • Rachel Postlewaite for Online News Reporting


The Klipsun staff, Nichols and Yates will continue on to compete at the national level against other winners from all 12 SPJ regions later this spring.

For more information about these award winners, contact Peggy Watt (360) 650-2338 or Peggy.Watt@wwu.edu.