WWU Student Journalists Win Three Categories in the SPJ Regional Mark of Excellence Awards

Western Washington University had three student journalist winners and several additional finalists in the Region 10 Mark of Excellence (MOE) Awards from the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) released Monday, April 23.

​SPJ’s Region 10 includes Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.


  • Erasmus Baxter and Alexis Edgar, Best In-Depth Reporting for “Rental Inspection Results Reveal Issues with Landlords in York and Sehome Neighborhoods”
  • Jesse Nichols and Kjell Redal, Best Online/Digital Feature Videography for “Troubled Waters”
  • Suzanna Leung, Best Editorial Writing for “State Legislature Undervalues Western Students’ Need for Mental Health Services;” “Bellingham Bridge Honoring Confederate General Needs Name Change;” “Whatcom GOP’s Support of Eric Bostrom Promotes Hate”


  • Planet Magazine, Best Student Magazine
  • Caleb Huisingh, Erasmus Baxter and Asia Fields, In-Depth Reporting finalist for “Student Convicted of Sexual Assault Readmitted”
  • Caleb Husingh, In-Depth Reporting finalist for “RA Room Intruder Was Volunteer Track Coach”
  • Jesse Nichols, Online/Digital Feature Videography finalist for “Murder Mystery”
  • Jesse Nichols, Non-Fiction Magazine Article finalist for “Political Science”
  • October Yates, Online/Digital Feature Videography finalist for “Stone Cold Sober”
  • Alex Halverson, Feature Writing finalist for “Veteran’s Rescued Flag Receives Honor Guard, 50 Years Later”
  • Brian Yasui, Non-Fiction Magazine Article finalist for “Listen Closely”
  • Miranda Abrashi, Feature Photography finalist for “Eye in the Sky

Baxter, Edgar, Nichols, Redal and Leung will all be moving on to compete at the national level against other winners from the 12 SPJ regions. The results will be announced in September.

For more information on these award winners, contact Jack Keith at (360) 650-6244 or jack.keith@wwu.edu.