Western Washington University's Men's Rugby Team Wins D1AA National 7's Championship Title on Home Turf

Western Washington University’s men’s rugby team has clinched the D1AA National 7's Championship title, a historic victory that marks a significant milestone for the program.

The championship tournament, held at Robert S. Harrington field on WWU campus, saw the Vikings demonstrate exceptional skill, teamwork, and determination, culminating in their triumph over the University of Oregon with a final score of 21-0.

Head Coach Paul Horne praised the team’s relentless work ethic and strategic skillset.

"This is a very good team and everybody's very proud of how these guys performed, how dedicated they were, how hard they worked, and hard work pays off," Horne said.

The championship journey was filled with remarkable performances, including standout moments from Eli Ashmann, Kyle Peter, and Charlie Funk who all became members of the All-Tournament Team. The Vikings’ path to victory included wins over Texas State, Iowa, UTSA, San Jose, Iowa State, and Oregon, showcasing their resilience and tactical excellence throughout the tournament.

Team Captain Max Stone reflected on the significance of the win.

"It feels great. It is something that's completely novel for the club in the 70 years that we've been a team at Western and it feels really good to end my Western career on that type of win," Stone said.

The D1AA National 7's Championship is a prestigious tournament that features the best collegiate rugby teams from across the United States. Winning this title places WWU among the elite programs in collegiate rugby and sets a high standard for future seasons. The achievement is expected to boost the sport's profile on campus and inspire future generations of rugby players at WWU.

The team hosts their annual Alumni Match this Saturday, June 1, at 1 p.m. at the deWilde Rugby & Polo Fields in Ferndale. It is a public event, open to all ages for spectating, and free of charge for admission.


Game 1 – WWU vs. Texas State 43-0

Game 2 – WWU vs. Iowa 41-7

Game 3 – WWU vs. UTSA 29-5

Game 4 – WWU vs. San Jose St. 38-10

Game 5 – WWU vs. Iowa State 38-13

Game 6 – WWU vs. Oregon 21-0



1. Max Stone (C)

2. Kyle Peter

3. Eli Ashmann

4. Jack Martin

5. Liam Herring

6. Ned O'Brian

7. Nathan Mathis

8. Oliver Kelleher

9. Andreas Solaronzo Jones

10. Harry Moore

11. Charlie Funk

12. Brett Ebert

13. Peter Nourse

14. Ethan Grassley

15. Steven Locke