Western Libraries announces 2019-20 Undergraduate Research Award winners

Western Libraries is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 - 2020 Western Libraries Undergraduate Research Award.  Three awards are given annually to Western Washington University undergraduate students in recognition of their excellence and originality in creating research papers for courses taught across the colleges based on significant inquiry using library resources and collections. 

Each winner or winning team receives a cash award of $500, and publication of their prize-winning paper in WesternCEDAR, Western Washington University’s institutional repository.  

Award applicants must demonstrate outstanding library research in their research and writing coursework at Western, and winners are selected by an award review committee consisting of a variety of faculty members from Western Libraries and other disciplines at Western. 

This year's winners are: 

  • Eleanor Young, Rowan Salton, and Hanna Estes for their paper "Public Perceptions of #MeToo Gay Male Sexual Assault Disclosure: A Qualitative Content Analysis of Facebook Comments,” written for Psychology 451, Psychology of Trauma in Social & Cultural Context. Supporting faculty member: Brianna Delker

  • Jessamyn (Jess) Irvine for their paper "Brutus the Usurper: Discordance and Resolution in Jacques-Louis David’s Roman Tableau" written for Art History 497, Early Modern Art, Gender, and Sexuality. Supporting faculty member: Jimena Berzal de Dios 

  • Paige Toop  for their paper "Beyond Thoughts and Prayers: Understanding Mass Violence through an Investigation of Masculinity in the White Nationalist Movement" written for Sociology 369, Sociology of Race and Ethnicity. Supporting faculty member: Glenn Tsunokai 


Congratulations to all three talented award winners! And a special thank you also goes out to the 2019-2020 Award Review Committee, and all of the supporting faculty members: Gabe Gossett (Western Libraries), Jenny Oleen (Western Libraries), and Christine Espina (Nursing), Jimena Berzal de Dios, Glenn T. Tsunokai, and Brianna Delker. 



portrait of eleanor young
Portrait of Rowan Salton
portrait of hannah Estes
portrait of Jessamyn (Jess) Irvine
portrait of Paige Toop