Convocation kicks off 2015-16 school year

After the Viking Commons and the Viking Union Multipurpose Room filled with faculty and staff for the annual convocation breakfast, Western Washington University President Bruce Shepard kicked off the 2015-16 school year with his convocation remarks.

The full text of his speech, along with a video, is available on the president's website.

Board of Trustees Chair Karen Lee provided a brief outline of the presidential search process, noting that, “we are not only searching for candidates who are eminently qualified to lead, but who understand Western’s distinctive excellence, its strengths and challenges, and its aspirations for the years ahead.  For that, the Trustees need to listen to all who are Western, both on and off campus.”

The full text of Trustee Lee’s remarks is at the Presidential Search website.

The following award winners also were celebrated at the event:

  • Carl H. Simpson Bridging Award: Heather Davidson, instructor, Communication Studies
  • Diversity Achievement Award: Marie Eaton, professor, Fairhaven College of Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Outstanding Classified Staff Award: Margaret Gegenhuber, program coordinator, Elementary Education Department
  • Outstanding Faculty Leadership Award: Don Alper, retired, director of the Center for Canadian-American Studies and Border Policy Research Institute
  • Philip E. Sharpe, Jr. Community Engagement Award: Vernon Damani Johnson, professor, Department of Political Science
  • Professional Staff Award for Excellence: Casey Hayden, coordinator of student activities, Viking Union
  • Team Recognition Award: Institute for Energy Studies team
    • Andy Bunn
    • Brian Burton
    • Mark Bussell
    • Gail Cowan
    • Marilyn Desmul
    • Dan Hagen
    • Steve Hollenhorst
    • Kathy Kitto
    • Todd Morton
    • David Patrick
    • Kathryn Patrick
    • Jennifer Seltz
    • Pete Stelling
    • Joel Swisher
    • Phil Thompson
    • Manca Valum
    • Thomas Webler