Western Washington UniversityCommunications and Marketing
DATE: May 1, 2014 10:10:52 AM PDT
Buchwald Awarded 2014 Linus Pauling Medal Award
Buchwald will be honored at a symposium and banquet on Oct. 11 at WWU

Contact: John Gilbertson, WWU assistant professor of Chemistry, (360) 650-2790 or John.Gilbertson@wwu.edu

BELLINGHAM – Stephen L. Buchwald, the Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been awarded the 2014 Linus Pauling Medal Award, for "outstanding contributions to chemistry meriting national and international recognition."

Buchwald will be honored at a symposium and banquet on Oct. 11, 2014, at Western Washington University. The Linus Pauling Medal Award has been given annually since 1966 by the ACS Puget Sound, Oregon, and Portland Sections of the American Chemical Society. The award is named after its first winner Nobel laureate Linus Pauling, a native of the Pacific Northwest.

Buchwald’s research combines the elements of organic synthesis, physical organic chemistry, and organometallic chemistry to devise catalytic processes of use in solving problems of fundamental importance. He was born in 1955 in Bloomington, Indiana. He received his Sc.B. degree from Brown University in 1977 where he worked with Kathlyn A. Parker and David E. Cane at Brown University as well as Professor Gilbert Stork at Columbia University.

He entered Harvard University as a National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellow in 1977 and received his Ph.D. in 1982. His thesis work, with Jeremy R. Knowles, concerned the mechanism of phosphoryl transfer reactions in chemistry and biochemistry. He then was a Myron A. Bantrell postdoctoral fellow at Caltech with Professor Robert H. Grubbs where he studied titanocene methylenes as reagents in organic synthesis and the mechanism of Ziegler-Natta polymerization. In 1984 he began as an assistant professor of chemistry MIT. He was promoted to the associate professor (1989) and to Professor (1993) and was named the Camille Dreyfus Professor in 1997.     During his time at MIT he has received numerous honors including the Harold Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award of MIT, an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, the 2000 Award in Organometallic Chemistry from the American Chemical Society, a MERIT award from the National Institutes of Health. He has also been the recipient of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Distinguished Achievement Award and the CAS Science Spotlight Award, both received in 2005 and the American Chemical Society's Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry as well as the Siegfried Medal Award in Chemical Methods which Impact Process Chemistry, both received in 2006. In 2010 he received the Gustavus J. Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest.

He received the 2013 Arthur C. Cope Award from the American Chemical Society. In 2000, he was elected as a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and in 2008 he was elected as a member of the National Academy of Science. He is the coauthor of over 415 published or accepted papers and 43 issued patents. He serves as a consultant to a number of companies and is an associate editor of Advanced Synthesis and Catalysis and Chemical Science.

Copyright © 2001-2012, Western Washington University. All rights reserved.
Powered by the PIER System.